On My Mind – February 2, 2012

Standard

Happy Groundhog (Groundhog’s?) Day!

What an odd thing looking to a groundhog to predict the weather.

Although Georgia’s groundhog, General Beauregard Lee (yes, that’s his name), is pretty funny waddling out of his Antebellum mansion every winter.

This has been a mild winter, to put it mildly. Thank you dear Mother Nature for taking pity on us this year after everything you put us through last year.

It’s been so nice I was out in the yard with the dogs yesterday.

And found a game piece missing since Christmas. Good to know our Cocker Spaniel’s intestinal system can handle a plastic train.

Washed that sucker off and it’s good as new.

We had a cancer scare with our Golden Retriever. I saw the knot on his leg. Vet said bone cancer. A thousand dollars, several x-rays, and a biopsy later, turns out it is a bone calcification caused by an injury. No cancer. Healthy pup. (Extreme exhale here.)

Saw that Prince William and Princess Kate (or Bill and Cathy Cambridge – as my favorite bloggers call them) got a black Cocker Spaniel just like our Sadie. Great taste you two.

It’s almost Super Bowl Sunday.

Seems like it’s been a pretty boring event lately. Do we need to invite Janet Jackson back?

I mean Madonna? I love some 1980′s Madonna. I can even dip into the 90′s with ‘Vogue’ and ‘Express Yourself’ but the parade of aging musicians they call a half time show is getting stale.

That’s why at my house we watch the Puppy Bowl at halftime.

Animal Planet. Check it out and try not to laugh. (extra bonus: the hamsters inside the gameday blimp!)

Finally saw ‘The Help.’  Characters were a tad overdrawn, the drama intentionally manipulative, and yet, I cried through the whole thing.

Also had a good cry when the dog was given a clean bill of health.

And when my daughter said I didn’t have to get up with her in the morning before school if I didn’t want to.

I’m a crier.

And I’m still getting up.

Dear friend and co-worker has decided to stay home with her new baby. Tough decision. Right decision for her. I’m proud of her. And maybe a little jealous. And probably a lot introspective about my going back to work when my baby was new.

She was just the roundest, happiest, gurgling and gruntiest little muffin I’d ever seen.

To this day, I call her my muffin tin.

Don’t judge.

Your turn.

 

Leave a Reply

